X
Collapse
First Prev Next Last

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Age of Consent

I€™ve noticed in some postings that there is some confusion over the age of consent in Thailand.
    Also recently there have been some changes made to the laws in the forum readers home countries that have effect in Thailand

So with Bumpa STIKKA€™s consent I€™ve started this thread.  

I will state fairly briefly what the laws are for each country and how  -  as I see it  -  they apply to Thailand.
    At the end for the lighter readers and as a quick reference I will show a table with the effective ages for Thailand.

Remember I am not a lawyer and all  laws are subject to interpretation  -  some more loosely than others!
    The favorite legal comment is;  that is a grey area  -  which translates as;  I don€™t know no-one has tried it yet.

Thailand

Prostitution is illegal in Thailand  -  when you take someone from a bar the bar fine is just that
     -  they are fined for not being at their place of work.
    What happens after that is between you and that other person.
    If the police find a falang with a young Thai person you can guarantee that they will assume payment is being made in some way
    and therefore the Thai is prostituting themselves.

The age of consent in Thailand is 15  -  that applies to male or female  -  heterosexual or homosexual relations.
    That is assuming that NO payment has been made.

The age of consent is 18 when any form of payment is made.
    Payment is very loosely defined  -  it does not have to be money it can be gifts, favours anything.
    As the law is written  -  if you let them have a can of soda out of the minibar that is payment
     -  if you let them shower in your hotel room that is a favour.

The age at which a Thai can work in a place of entertainment is 20.  This law applies to the owner not the customers.
    A place of entertainment is a bar or nightclub.