Collapse
First Prev Next Last

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What is the safest bank in Thailand?

same old topic but with a slight twist

given i have no knowledge of the banking history in Thailand i need to ask a small question of those who know and understand thailand well....

I'm keen to open an account

1) which bank is most likely to allow a non resident to open an account up?
    2) Which bank is the most stable and least likely to disappear if i start sending cash over there for the next 10 years or so...

thanks

Azza

A worthy trip report

None when i have a stocking on me 'ed!
    x
    Forgot how this forum works  

Comment

Question number 1 has been discussed already a lot in this post: Bank Account, Cash, Cash, Cash

One of the most reliable banks in Thailand is Bangkok Bank - however as you well know even in western countries - strong banks can run into problems and go under.

from Fish Box

Click on the links below and discover how the Forums work
      Membership Levels
      The Rookie Thread
      New to The Ladyboy Forums? Introduce yourself!
      Old Members Must Reset Their Passwords

Comment

(Naang Faa @ May 17 2008,17:42) None when i have a stocking on me 'ed!
        x
        perhaps point 2 should be...

Which bank is insured in case Nang-Faa is feeling cash strapped?

Azza

A worthy trip report

Comment

Hello Azza,

This subject came up only a couple of months ago so it's worth doing a search.

To answer your two questions directly:-

1.  Under Thai banking laws non-residents cannot open a normal bank account.
          You can open a foreign currency account but as far as I know none of those available will allow you to have an ATM card, cheque book et.
          However as others have found not all the bank employees know the law so if you shop around it is possible to open a normal account.