X
Collapse
First Prev Next Last

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Momma's (on soi 23)

My mate Phils review of this new restaurant...

These English style pubs in Bangkok (including the dreadful Londoner) are overpriced expat watering holes with minimal service and and even less friendliness.

I've been eating out in Bangkok for four years and 'Mommas' is the only place in town for me. The Lasagne is the best deal for 110 Baht and that's the most expensive thing on the menu.

If that skanky shit-pit The Offshore and the sub-standard pricey Big John popped into Momma's and took home what they learned there would be more places to go in Bangkok for hungry teachers and ex-pats who don't/can't cook at home.

I agree that some of the pubs do decent nosh, but for most of us I'd say that after letting go of about 800 Baht for a meal and two pints is just too much.

I can get the same thing in Momma's for less than a third.

OK - here's the deal about this new restaurant:

Service - 100%
    Jono (Pronounced John 'o'!) and his girlfriend and partner, Wanna, are terrific. His attention to detail and commitment and her English and service are second to none in Thailand.

Ambience - 95% It's small but comfortable. The music is in the background and is mainly oldies and some jazz thrown in. The air is cool and light. (Not blustery from fans or ice cold from the AC!) The decor is terrific. Cosy, intimate and CLEAN!

(I wish they had UBC for the footy, but maybe next year!)

Food - 95% My goodness - this place is the best deal in Thailand. They use real cutlery that doesn't fold up if you eat anything denser than mash. It's HOT. The portions are BIG! The chips are NOT frozen. It's VERY CHEAP! And to top it all off the food itself tastes fantastic.

It was a wonderful experience to taste British food like it tastes in Britain!