X
Collapse
First Prev Next Last

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Thai Constitution

I asked my lawyer if I could do anything against Q-Bar and other establishments for refusing LBs to enter.

He said the Thai Constitution does protect human rights, however, there are no laws to that effect, and thus it is near impossible to enforce.

Now, I'm not a legal expert, but I thought the Constitution was a 'law' sort of, however, this lawyer has helped me a lot and is extremely trusted...I believe the essence of his comment was a reflection of reality in Thailand, i.e., human rights are not enforceable.

As such, the only thing that can be done easily, is embarassment, and I do intend to do that. Watch for an essay on my web-site, in about a month, called, "No Blacks, Muslims, Jews...or Transsexuals...Allowed! Public Discrimination in Thailand." I will then mention Q-Bar, its owner's name, The Whitehouse Hotel in Pattaya, and his name, and 1 or 2 others.

Well, good luck with your crusade. I won't be signing the petition.

I think all private businesses should be allowed to say who they allow in to use their property. If a hotel doesn't like ladyboys good luck to them. There are plenty of hotels that do. There are plenty of Jap clubs that don't allow farangs and I wholeheartedly support their right to turn me away. Q Bar aint the only club in town. Take her to one of the multitude of clubs that allow ladyboys.

This is not about human rights. If she was beaten half to death for trying to get in Q Bar you'd have a case. But being turned away is the chance you take when you go out to a new place.